Ofgem has opened a formal investigation into ScottishPower Energy Retail Limited over possible failures on backbilling and debt recovery, the regulator announced on Thursday 5 November. The notice, published by Ofgem under the title ScottishPower: backbilling and debt recovery, examines whether the supplier complied with its licence obligations in those areas.
Scope and nature of the probe
The regulator said the investigation concerns licence conditions rather than representing any finding of wrongdoing, and it has not published an outcome or timetable for the work. The notice identifies backbilling and debt recovery as the central matters under scrutiny.
Reporting on the same day indicated the probe also examines whether ScottishPower complied with rules on treating customers fairly and on supporting vulnerable households. Those additional elements are drawn from same-day reporting of the regulator’s notice rather than the regulator’s own summary, and Ofgem has not published the specific licence conditions or the evidence underlying the investigation.
ScottishPower is one of the United Kingdom’s largest domestic energy suppliers. It supplies homes across Scotland and also serves customers in London and the South East. The regulator did not disclose the number of customers potentially affected, nor has it set out the triggers that led to the formal investigation.
Possible outcomes and regulatory powers
Ofgem has statutory powers to require redress payments for consumers or to impose financial penalties where licence breaches are established. The regulator has not said whether this case might be resolved through agreed redress instead of formal enforcement, and it has not indicated whether it will publish interim findings as the investigation proceeds.
At this stage the regulator has not specified which licence conditions are alleged to have been breached, what evidence it is relying on, or whether it has identified systemic failings. The notice therefore sets out an inquiry rather than a determination, and no firm conclusions should be inferred from its publication.
The investigation is not expected at present to have a direct read across to consumer bills. Ofgem has stated that the inquiry itself does not change the current price arrangements for households, and it has not linked the inquiry to immediate changes in the energy price cap.
The regulator is separately consulting on proposed changes to the clean power cost allowance within the energy price cap. That consultation is a distinct process and does not form part of the ScottishPower investigation.
Context and wider pressures
The action against ScottishPower comes at a time when household energy costs remain a prominent public issue. On the same day the investigation was opened, the Bank of England raised Bank Rate to 4 per cent, citing higher energy prices among the reasons for its decision. That decision reflects broader inflationary pressures in the economy of which energy costs are a component.
Ofgem has not said whether it will make any immediate demands on ScottishPower while the investigation is ongoing, nor has it provided a timetable for the review. The regulator’s notice therefore signals the start of a process that could take time to conclude, and which may result in a range of regulatory outcomes depending on the findings.
For customers of ScottishPower in London and the South East and beyond, the key immediate consequence is heightened regulatory scrutiny. The investigation will determine whether licence obligations were met in areas that include the recovery of historic charges and the treatment of customers in debt. Until Ofgem publishes further material or reaches a finding, details about the precise scope and evidence behind the probe remain limited.
Ofgem and ScottishPower have both been identified in the regulator’s formal publication. The regulator’s notice provides the official starting point for the inquiry, and further developments will depend on the findings that emerge from its review of the supplier’s compliance with licence obligations.